Bahnhofstrasse is Zurich's main downtown street and one of the world's most expensive and exclusive shopping avenues. In 2011, a study named the Bahnhofstrasse the most expensive street for retail property in Europe, and the third most expensive worldwide. In 2016 ranked ninth.
It came into existence when the city fortifications were demolished in 1864 and the ditch in front of the walls was filled in. Until that time, the name of the location had been Fröschengraben ("Ditch Of The Frogs"), which then was changed to Bahnhofstrasse ("Station Street").
Bahnhofstrasse starts at Bahnhofplatz ("Station Square") in front of the Zürich Hauptbahnhof (47°22′40″N 8°32′25″E), passing Rennweg, Augustinergasse and Paradeplatz before it ends after 1.4 km at Bürkliplatz (47.3671°N 8.5409°E / 47.3671; 8.5409 (Bürkliplatz)) on Lake Zurich (National Bank), (Hotel Baur au Lac).
The street is largely pedestrianised, but is also an important link in the Zürich tram network. North of Paradeplatz the street carries routes 6, 7, 11 and 13, whilst to the south it carries 2, 8, 9 and 11. Stops are served at Hauptbahnhof, Rennweg, Paradeplatz, Börsenstrasse and Bürkliplatz.
Some of the many shops include:
Franz Carl Weber
Tiffany and Co.
Paradeplatz, one of the most famous squares in Switzerland, is situated towards the end of the Bahnhofstrasse closest to Lake Zurich. The two biggest Swiss banks, UBS and the Credit Suisse Group, have their headquarters there. Paradeplatz is also known for its chocolate shop and cafe, Confiserie Sprüngli.
The Paradeplatz is a square at the Bahnhofstrasse in downtown Zürich. It is one of the most expensive pieces of real estate in Switzerland and has become synonymous with wealth and the Swiss banks, being the location of the headquarters of both UBS and Credit Suisse.
The site of the square lay without the medieval city walls, and was incorporated into the town with the construction of the new ramparts in 1642. During the 17th century, it served as a livestock market, known as Säumärt ("pig market"), renamed to Neumarkt "new market" in 1819 and finally to its current name following the construction of Bahnhofstrasse (1865). The hotel Baur en Ville on the eastern end of the square opened in 1838. The Paradeplatz was the scene of clashes between insurgents and cantonal troops during the 1839 Züriputsch.
The Confiserie Sprüngli at the southern end opened in 1859. The Credit Suisse (formerly Kreditanstalt) building at the northern end dates to 1873, the UBS (formerly Bankverein) building at the western end to 1897–99. The first horse-drawn trams circulated in 1882 and were electrified in 1896.
Paradeplatz is one of the main nodal points of the Zürich tram network, and the stop is served by lines 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13 and 17.
The Fraumünster Church (lit. in English: Women's Minster, but often wrongly translated to [Our] Lady Minster) in Zürich is built on the remains of a former abbey for aristocratic women which was founded in 853 by Louis the German for his daughter Hildegard. He endowed the Benedictine convent with the lands of Zürich, Uri, and the Albis forest, and granted the convent immunity, placing it under his direct authority. Today, it belongs to the Evangelical Reformed Church of the Canton of Zürich and is one of the four main churches of Zürich, the others being the Grossmünster, Prediger and St. Peter's churches.
Kirche St. Peter
The Lindenhof in the old town of Zürich is the historical site of the Roman castle, and the later Carolingian Kaiserpfalz. It is situated on the Lindenhof hill, on the left side of the Limmat at the Schipfe.
In 1747, a 2nd-century Roman tombstone was discovered at the site, bearing the oldest attestation of Turīcum, the Roman era name of Zürich, as STA[tio] TURIC[ensis], at the time a tax collecting point. The castle remained intact during the early phase of Alemannic immigration in the 5th to 6th century, but was derelict by the 9th century, when it was rebuilt as a residence for Louis the German, which in turn became dilapidated and used as a source of building stone by the 13th century.
The Lindenhof remained a place of civil assembly into modern times. In 1798, the citizens of Zürich swore the oath to the constitution of the Helvetic Republic on the Lindenhof.
In 1851 the Masonic Lodge 'Modestia cum Libertate' (1771) bought the residence 'Zum Paradies" and built a masonic building on the southern end of the square.
In the early 21st century, it serves as a recreational space, a green oasis, and automobile free space in the old historic city center. Its elevated position makes it a favorite point for tourists to get an overview of the geography of old Zürich. During the local holiday of Sechseläuten in April, the Lindenhof serves as the base of operations for whichever canton is the 'guest-Canton' for that year.
Zürich's Town Hall (Zürich Rathaus)
Swiss National Museum
Landesmuseum Zürich Auditorium Willy G.S Hirzel
Die Polyterrasse ist ein beliebter Aussichtspunkt mit Blick über die Altstadt zum Uetliberg und ins Limmattal. Sie wird vom ETH-Zentrum verwaltet.